Another blogging mystery solved – the Liebster Award

I started writing my blog about eight months ago so it’s all still fairly new to me. Although I struggle with the techie aspects, I enjoy writing posts because it helps me to focus on my family history research. I also find it a useful discipline to construct an ancestor story, rather than having all the individual sources stored in various files, catalogued in card indexes and documented in computer software programmes. This re-evaluating of research can result in new leads. But I have occasionally wondered if it was worth putting it in a blog, and even went so far to question it in a recent twitter posting. After all, would anyone else be interested?

Then a few months ago I received a comment from Suzanne Hopper Gray. She has a fabulous family history blog Filling in the Family Tree all about her ancestors and the genealogy process generally. She had nominated me for a Liebster Award.

The Liebster Award is a lovely way to welcome new bloggers and also introduce them to other blogs. Thank you ever so much Suzanne. It made my day to know that others do read my blog.

The Liebster Award is, I suppose, the blogging equivalent of a chain letter. But it has some wonderful benefits. As a result of Suzanne’s nomination I’ve got to read some really interesting blogs, ones that I otherwise may not have seen. And hopefully my blog will be similarly introduced to others in the blogging community.

Here is how it works:

Make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you. Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.

Liebster Award

Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award.
Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. Ensure all of these bloggers have less than 200 followers. Answer the eleven questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make eleven questions of your own for your nominees or you may use the same questions. Lastly, COPY these rules in your post. (Note: I removed a line that said you could re-nominate the person who nominated you. If you want that, add it back it in!)

So, in no particular order, here are my nominees for the Liebster Award:

  • starryblacknessa family history blogger sharing the lives of her ancestors. These include ones from Devon and Cornwall, areas I love visiting. There are also ones from West Yorkshire, my home-county;
  • Dunfermline News 100 Years Ago – I love old newspapers and I’m particularly fascinated by the WW1 period, so I really enjoy reading these news snippets about life and times a century ago;
  • Victorian Detectives – for those interested in Victorian Crime and Punishment, this is a wonderful blog;
  • The Pharos Blog: Lighting up Genealogy – in-depth, thought-provoking genealogy articles by Pharos Tutors, an online genealogy and family history course provider;
  • Life in the Past Lane – A family history blogger writing about her research journey, including her DNA discoveries.

Here are my answers to the questions asked by Suzanne:

What do you do for fun?
Read, cross stitching, research my family history, support my rugby league team (Huddersfield Giants), walk and have days out with my family. 

 

Combining two of my favourite things: family history & cross stitching


What happened on the happiest day that you can remember?
My daughter was born.

What is your favourite meal?
A seasonal, proper autumn/winter Sunday lunch. Mashed and roast potatoes, roast beef, Brussels sprouts, carrots, horseradish sauce, English mustard, lashings of gravy and, most importantly of all given my roots, Yorkshire pudding. 

What do you hope to accomplish with your blog?
To have fun bringing together my ancestors’ stories so their lives live on; to also research and remember other people who lived in the Batley area; and if others enjoy reading it, well that’s a bonus

What is your preferred genre of music?
Rock/Heavy Metal in my teens and early 20’s. Numerous gigs and festivals attended. Now my taste is far more eclectic and, to the benefit of my hearing and fellow commuters, played at a reduced volume level. Given the current work stresses I’m into soothing sounds of sea/ocean waves, nature type music, if it can be classed as music!

If a genie came to you and said “Your wish is my command!” what would you wish?
This is a tough one. There are so many horrible things including illness, poverty and hunger. On a personal level it is tempting to say health for all my family. But trying to look at it from a more selfless/greater good angle I think I’d wish for an end to conflict in the world, from individual and community level right through to nations and religions.

Where would you like to go on your dream vacation?
County Mayo, Ireland

What irritates you?
People on public transport who take up more than one seat – one for themselves and the other for their bag!

What are you reading right now?
The Wills of our Ancestors: A Guide for Family and Local Historians  by Stuart A Raymond – I’m due to start my final assessed genealogy course module in the New Year!

What’s your favourite movie?
I don’t watch movies – I don’t have time! Think the last one I saw was “Titanic”. 

What are you most proud of?
Gosh another tricky one. My daughter (she’d be most put out if I didn’t say that). After that it is 50/50 between writing my paternal family history book which was a Father’s Day present for my dad in 2014. I finished it a couple of months before he was diagnosed with terminal stomach cancer. 13 months on he’s still with us and Mid Yorkshire NHS Trust have admitted they misdiagnosed him, but that’s a whole new issue!!!!!! And seeing my charity fundraising booklet in print. It’s about the men of Batley St Mary’s RC Church who lost their lives in WW1. I spent over three years researching the 76 men and the booklet has raised several hundred pounds for St Mary’s and The Royal British Legion Poppy Appeal. St Mary’s are currently raising money to repair the church roof. More information can be found at:

http://www.stmarybatley.co.uk/roof-fund.html

 

Labour of Love: Batley St Mary’s War Memorial Booklet


Here are my questions for those I’ve nominated:

  1. What do you do for fun?
  2. What is your biggest regret in life?
  3. What happened on the happiest day that you can remember?
  4. Why did you start blogging?
  5. What is your earliest memory?
  6. If a genie came to you and said “Your wish is my command!” what would you wish?
  7. Where is the favourite place you’ve ever visited and why?
  8. What irritates you?
  9. What book are you currently reading?
  10. If you could go back in time, which era would you want to visit and why?
  11. Which achievement are you most proud of?

Thank you Suzanne – really appreciated this. And thank you for introducing me to some wonderful blogs.

PS – to those I’ve nominated, do not feel obliged to take up the challenge. Some of you may have probably received nominations in the past!

 

4 responses to “Another blogging mystery solved – the Liebster Award

  1. Congratulations, Jane! Very well-deserving….

  2. Thank you for nominating me. You know, my mother’s maiden name is Roberts!

  3. Jacqueline Hunter

    Jane, thanks for the nomination. Dunfermline News 100 Years Ago will have an extra post within the next few days hopefully with answers and nominations! 😀

Leave a Reply

